Must See Places

Best Places to Travel!

Must See Places | Chine | 07

Signup and get $20 on your first journey!
A House in Wuhan, Hubei, China Hubei (help·info) (Chinese: 湖北; pinyin: Húběi; Wade-Giles: Hu-pei; Postal map spelling: Hupeh) is a central province of the People's Republic of China. Its abbreviation is 鄂 (pinyin: È), an ancient name associated with the eastern part of the province since the Qin Dynasty. The name Hubei means "north of the lake", referring to Hubei's position north of Dongting Lake. The capital of Hubei is Wuhan. Hubei borders Henan to the north, Anhui to the east, Jiangxi to the southeast, Hunan to the south, Chongqing to the west, and Shaanxi to the northwest. The high-profile Three Gorges Dam is located in Yichang, in western Hubei. A popular unofficial name for Hubei is Chu (Chinese: 楚; pinyin: Chǔ), after the powerful state of Chu that existed here during the Eastern Zhou Dynasty.

Source: AvaxNews

Rating 5.0 (1 vote)
Comments (1)

1 Comment

Mika: on 10/01/2013

Thanks for complete explanations.

Add a comment:

*Required fields

Subscribe to comments RSS Feed